101 UPDATE

Dear Blog,

I’m sorry I never write. It’s just that I got busy [sad excuse] and I decide that you are so loyal you’d still be waiting for me upon my return. Even if it did take me 2 months to get back here. Love, Alyssa

What better way to start my blogging again then with a 101 update! Luckily, even thought my blogging skills are slacking my 101 in 1001 list has still been capturing my attention.

START: January 1, 2011                                 END: September 28, 2013

The Mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks/goals/challenges in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (i.e. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and represent “stretching.”

Why 1001 Days?
It’s all about a realistic deadline. 1001 days (about 2.75 years) allows you several seasons to complete tasks, which is better for organizing and timing things like overseas trips or outdoor activities.

Italicized- in the process of being completed

strikethrough- means completed

WORK IT
1. Do the morning boot camp workout [so early!!!!] at least one session of it [0/1]
2. drink only water for a week for 3 weeks [doesn’t have to be consecutive] [0/3]
3. Take my vitamins everyday for a month
4. Lose some LBs
5. run a 5k [I ran a 1/2 marathon so I’m counting that instead!]
6. work out every day for a month
7. walk to my mailbox [instead of stopping on my drive by] for one month
8. take a karate class and be one step closer to being Sydney Bristow
EDUCATE!
9. read 5 biographies/autobiographies of people I admire [0/5]
10. read 10 classics [1/10] *Jane Eyre
11. get a second masters degree
12. read 100 books [8/100] *Jane Eyre, Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Girl Who Played With Fire, Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, Something Borrowed, Something Blue, Room, 
13. Re read a book from high school that was required in an English class
TALLAHASSEE
14. Eat at 5 new restaurants in Tallahassee [5/5] *Wine Loft, Fuzions, Coosh’s, Sahara, Crape Vine
15. Eat at 5 new restaurants outside Tallahassee [5/5] *Schooners [panama city beach], First Watch [orlando], Wildhorse Saloon + Paradise Park Trailer Resort [nashville], KeKe’s Breakfast Cafe
16. do 20 things I haven’t done off this list 100 things to do in tallahassee
TRAVEL
17. go to Europe
18. go to Alaska
19. go to NYC for new years [I went in September, with one of my oldest friends. Also- not sure I really want to go over NYE]
20. go to a state I’ve never been to
21. go on a spontaneous trip some place new
22. go skiing
23. see [another] broadway show [on broadway] Saw Sister Act + Book of Mormon!
24. visit 5 museums I’ve never been to [0/5]
25. go wine tasting in Napa Valley
FOOD
26. take a cooking class
27. go on a picnic
28. don’t eat out for two weeks
29. try ten foods I’ve never had [1/10] *Oysters, 
30. start compiling all my fav recipes + create an organized way of viewing them
31. cook three meals a week at home for a month
32. Learn to make crème brulee
33. go apple picking
JESUS woo!
34. pray for one of FOTH’s missions trips/country every week
35. Read the whole bible [chronologically]
36. Memorize a verse every week for three months
37. invite + bring five high school gals to summer yl camp Went to Sharp Top Cove in August!
GOING GREEN
38. support [shop] three local businesses every month for 5 months
39. only use reusable bags for 6 months
BUSINESS SKILLS
40. back up my computer at least once a month  [10/33]
41. get my website up and running [twenty-something three]
42. enhance my website skills
43. learn new photography tips + tricks
44. attend a MTH seminar
45. write a business plan
46. unsubscribe to all the websites I no longer read the emails from
47. Shoot pictures in the rain [buy some equipment to protect my camera first]
48. improve my illustrator skills
49. design a line a print/paper products [[stationary, postcards, etc]]
MOVIES
50. watch the lord of the rings movies [0/3]
51. watch season 1 of LOST [maybe the rest if I get hooked]
52. watch all the movies in my house that I’ve never seen [there’ quite a few, my roomie is ak]
53. make Allison watch Casablanca
CRAFTY CHICK
54. make a list of everyone I want to send a bday card to in 2011, make and send them!! [Dad 1.14]
55. re decorate my bedroom
56. start to make a t shirt quilt w/ my YL shirts
57. create [at least] 4 photobooks with pics from the past 5 years [0/4]
58. make a coffee table book filled w/ original pics
59. when I say “I could make that for cheaper” do it!! [3 different times] [1/3] *pillow
60. paint 4 new pictures [0/4]
61. send handmade Christmas cards
MONEY MATTERS
62. pay off ¼ of my student loans
63. stay debt free [minus my student loans] for all of these 1001 days
64. go one week without spending any money
SPLURGE
65. go to a spa for the day with my bffs
66. buy a bookshelf [[a large ikea like one]]
67. buy a new car
68. get a massage
69. splurge on a dress that makes me feel fabulous
70. take a day off for no apparent reason
71. Learn how to put on makeup [mostly eye shadow] from a professional
TO DO
72. get my own library card [[instead of using jamies]]
73. go on a date
74. make a list of top ten jobs I would love to have
75. meet 5 new friends who are in the same stage of life as me [0/5]
76. make a “bucket list”
77. frame my diplomas
78. learn a new skill
LOVE myself + others
79. identify 25 things I love about myself
80. identify 10 things I dislike about myself + change them
81. smile at every person I see for a week
82. Give a 100% tip
83. Do an anonymous favor
84. volunteer somewhere [besides YL] once a month
for a year [0/12]
85. send cds with my fav songs [at the time] to random friends
86. have a girls weekend with my friends from high school
87. Send someone flowers for no reason!
88. Write a letter to myself to open in 10 years
89. don’t say anything sarcastic for an entire week
RANDOM
90. write a hand written letter once a month
91. be jamies roommate again [she suggested this one]
92. go to 4 concerts [2/4] Montgomery Gentry [Nashville] Luke Bryan [Valdosta]
93. Go to the opera or ballet Went to Rock the Diamond!
94. Go camping [at least 2 times] [0/2]
95. Go ballroom dancing
96. Watch the sunrise and sunset in one day
97. buy a newspaper every Sunday for six months
98. play a favorite game from my youth
101 in 1001
99. blog about all my 101 experiences
100. donate $2 for every goal not completed to Church
101. make a new 101 in 1001 list!

Leave a Reply

